2009 final bram stoker ballot

Harlan County Horrors didn’t make the final ballot, but deep congratulations to those who did:

The 2009 Stoker Awards Final Ballot has been released:

Superior Achievement in a Novel
* Audrey’s Door, Sarah Langan (Harper)
* Patient Zero, Jonathan Maberry (St. Martin’s Griffin)
* Quarantined, Joe McKinney (Lachesis)
* Cursed, Jeremy Shipp (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
* Breathers, S. G. Browne (Broadway Books)
* Solomon’s Grave, Daniel G. Keohane (Dragon Moon Press)
* Damnable, Hank Schwaeble (Jove)
* The Little Sleep, Paul Tremblay (Henry Holt)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
* Dreaming Robot Monster, Mort Castle (Mighty Unclean)
* The Hunger of Empty Vessels, Scott Edelman (Bad Moon)
* The Lucid Dreaming, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon)
* Doc Good’s Traveling Show, Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
* “Keeping Watch”, Nate Kenyon (Monstrous: 20 Tales of Giant Creature Terror)
* “The Crossing of Aldo Ray”, Weston Ochse (The Dead That Walk)
* “In the Porches of My Ears”, Norman Prentiss (Postscripts 18)
* “The Night Nurse”, Harry Shannon (Horror Drive-In 7/09)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
* He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson, Christopher Conlon, ed. (Gauntlet)
* Lovecraft Unbound, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
* Poe, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Solaris)
* Midnight Walk, Lisa Morton, ed. (Dark House)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
* Martyrs and Monsters, Robert Dunbar (DarkHart)
* Got to Kill Them All and Other Stories, Dennis Etchison (Cemetery Dance)
* A Taste of Tenderloin, Gene O’Neill (Apex)
* In the Closet, Under the Bed, Lee Thomas (Dark Scribe)

Superior Achievement in Non-fiction
* Writers Workshop of Horror, Michael Knost (Woodland)
* Cinema Knife Fight, L.L. Soares & Michael Arruda (Fearzone)
* The Stephen King Illustrated Companion, Bev Vincent (Fall River)
* Stephen King: The Non-Fiction, Rocky Wood & Justin Brook (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
* Double Visions, Bruce Boston (Dark Regions)
* North Left of Earth, Bruce Boston (Sam’s Dot)
* Barfodder, Rain Graves (Cemetery Dance)
* Chimeric Machines, Lucy A. Snyder (Creative Guy)

Horror Writers Association members will vote to determine winners. Winning titles will be announced at the World Horror Convention, March 25-28 2010, in Brighton, England.